International Commissioning Project

The development of new work is important here at Hubbard Street, and in line with that mission, every year the organization announces a call for entries to its International Commissioning Project (formerly named the National Choreographic Competition).

Through this annual competition, a program of the Choreographic Development Initiative, Hubbard Street identifies emerging choreographers to create original works for HS2, the second company of the internationally acclaimed Hubbard Street Dance Chicago. Hubbard Street is committed to working with artists of diverse experiences and backgrounds and utilizes the International Commissioning Project as a way to bring new voices into the repertoire.

About the International Commissioning Project
The IC Project — part of Hubbard Street’s Choreographic Development Initiative — has gained an esteemed reputation, international recognition, and produced 40 original works to date. Notable grantees include Alvin Ailey American Dance Theater artistic director Robert Battle, Aszure Barton, Camille Brown, Norbert De La Cruz III, Gregory Dolbashian, Jonathan Fredrickson, Ayman Harper, Maurya Kerr, Alex Ketley, Gabrielle Lamb, Jessica Lang, Edwaard Liang, Andrea Miller, Yarden Ronen, Katarzyna Skarpetowska, Samar Haddad King, Dominic Walsh and Edgar Zendejas.

Hubbard Street is pleased to announce its call for proposals for IC Project residencies in 2015. Applications will be accepted  through January 9, 2015.

Celebrate 15 Years of Choreography While You Eat + Drink to the Beat
New works by 2014 IC Project choreographers Victor Alexander, Bryan Arias and Ihsan Rustem headline Hubbard Street 2’s Harris Theater engagement — part of the venue’s affordable and popular series “Eat to the Beat” — on Tuesday, December 16 at 5:30pm.

Tickets are just $5 — or catch the entire 2014–15 "Eat to the Beat" series with a $20 Lunchpass subscription!

Learn more about the International Commissioning Project:

HS2 2013–14 Season promo on YouTube
The majority of HS2’s 2013–14 Season choreography, as seen in this video by HMS Media, was developed for IC Project creations by Gregory Dolbashian and Norbert De La Cruz III.

“Inside Of ‘In C’”
HS2 Dancer Andrea Thompson describes her experience collaborating with IC Project choreographers in this guest post at

“Here We Grow”
HS2 alumna Lissa Smith reflects on teaching her Summer Intensive students HS2 repertoire developed through the program in 2013.

About the Process

HS2 Director Terence Marling and Hubbard Street Artistic Director Glenn Edgerton encourage experienced dancemakers to apply for commissions through HS2’s 16th annual International Commissioning Project.

About Your Proposal

To apply for consideration, please fill out the easy online application form, which will prompt you to provide:

  • A Vimeo or YouTube link to at least one complete choreographic work
  • Details regarding your dates of availability
  • Your current professional biography
  • A proposal of choreographic intent, maximum 1000 words
  • Information about any existing recordings of music you may use
  • A $15 Application Fee, payable through the donation module on
  • Please write "IC Project submission fee" in the additional comments section

These applications and materials must be submitted via the online form by January 9, 2015.
2015 IC Project choreographers will create and premiere their works during Hubbard Street 2’s 2015–16 season.

Questions about the application process or program details are welcome via email to

Congratulations to the 2014 International Commissioning Project winners!

Victor Alexander
Bryan Arias
Ihsan Rustem

Click here for the press release and more information.

Past winners include:

Loni Landon
Alex Soares

Norbert De La Cruz III
Gregory Dolbashian

Maurya Kerr
Clébio Oliveira
Penny Saunders

Samar Haddad King
Dominic Walsh
Edgar Zendejas

Maurice Causey
Jonathan Fredrickson
Gabrielle Lamb

Terence Marling
Andrea Miller
Lesley Telford

Yarden Ronen
Janice Lancaster
Amy Raymond

Francisco Avina
Kyra Green
Edwaard Liang

Todd Williams
Gina Patterson

Steve Rooks
Johannes Wieland
D.A. Hoskins

Ayman Aaron Harper
Aszure Barton
Millicent M. Johnnie

Katarzyna Skarpetowska
Meredith Rainey
Camille A. Brown

Brian Enos
Alex Ketley
Priscilla Nathan-Murphy

Francisco Avina
Sonya Delwaide

Robert Battle
Jessica Lang